The Mosque of Abu El Ila situates in one of the corners of 26th of July Street next to the Bridge of Abu El-Ila. This mosque was established in the late Mamluk period by Ibn El-Qanish El-Burullusi as a gift for Shaykh Hussein Abu Ali who is known now as Abu El-Ila. The mosque is attached with a mausoleum in which the Shaykh was buried in 1485. Many parts of this building were ruined and it was renovated in the 19th century. The mausoleum of Shaykh Abu El-Ila is admired for its harmoniously colored decorations that are still preserved since the Mamluk period and it is still visited by a large number of people now.
The major part of the mosque is in a ruinous state now except for the entrance, the Minaret, and the eastern wall. Few meters away from the remains of the Mosque of Abu El-Ila stands the Royal Stables in one of the corners of 26th of July Street. The main gate of this building is placed in the middle of two wings each one of them has a model of the head of the horse in its middle. This place was once used as a Carriage Museum, but this museum is placed in the Citadel now.
The major part of this building that was once the stable of the royal horses and was extended for a vast area is ruined now. Next to the Mosque of Abu El-Ila and in the corner of Sidi El-Khatiri Side Street one can notice the remains of a house that date back to the early 19th century. Although the major part of this building is awfully ruined, it is worth time to notice the charming façade and the Mashrabiya Windows with attractive geometric frames that imparts into the street.